#Louise Jensen #The Date #Book Review #psychologicalthriller

Ok, she did it again! I’ve just completed Louise Jensen‘s fourth novel, The Date (I stayed in bed especially to finish it – ssshh don’t tell anyone!)

πŸ’«

Genius writing; harrowing subject; believable characters performing such clever twists. Human emotions unfurling throughout the story, giving the book an almost documentary feel, it was so real. Which made it scary, really scary – more so than Louise’ previous three titles – imho (all of which were brilliant).

To finish this book and still maintain the fear to those final sentences is outstanding. I don’t think there was a page amongst the 300 total where nothing happened. What a rollercoaster.

I’m shattered, disturbed, emotionally drained and in need of a nice cuppa…. and that, my friend, is precisely what I search for in a read πŸ‘πŸΌ I absolutely loved it (as I knew I would and Louise has now become one of those authors whose books I would buy without even reading the blurb 🌸).

Blurb;

Something bad has happened to Alison Taylor.

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future.

By Sunday morning, Ali’s life is unrecognisable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt and she has no memory of what happened to her.

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn’t recognise the face staring back at her. She can’t recognise her friends and family. And she can’t recognise the person who is trying to destroy her…

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The Sister, The Gift and The Surrogate, The Date is a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep.