Thrillers and Vision Express .. #TheSilentPatient

How to feel like your debut is never going to be good enough in one easy step – scroll the posts of book reviewers and discover there are many many debut novels which are so damn good, they’ve secured the attention of Hollywood film directors before the book has even been released!

Now while I know that comparison is the thief of Joy (Man of the Woods read that sentence out to me last autumn while he was flicking through the morning papers and found one of those many mental health awareness articles).   He’s right.  The article is right.   We must STOP comparing ourselves to others, or we wouldn’t probably get out of bed in the mornings!

I read the blurb which goes with this debut by Alex Michaelides and was blown away by it.  How did I hear about it?  It is one of ten books chosen from many more reads enjoyed by Tracy Fenton, Book Blogger at compulsivereaders.com

Her post is fabulous and her blog a real treasure (I’m delighted to have found her today), but this book.  THIS BOOK!!  Eeek … I’ve just pre-ordered it.

IMG_0606.jpg

Blurb:

ALICIA
Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet – and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can’t bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

THEO
Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia’s silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?

THE SILENT PATIENT is the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 – perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn, THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh and THE GIRL BEFORE by JP Delaney. Publishing in over 45 countries, and with the film coming from Oscar winning Plan B Productions, THE SILENT PATIENT is the only thriller you need to read in 2019.

Early Reviews:

Absolutely brilliant . . . I read it in a state of intense, breathless excitement and never saw the ending coming. Not for a second! (STEPHEN FRY)

The Silent Patient sneaks up on you like a slash of intimidating shadow on a badly lit street. Michaelides has crafted a totally original, spellbinding psychological mystery so quirky, so unique that it should have its own genre. I read it in two nights and savored every luscious word, every grim encounter, every startling twist. The pages will burn with the friction from your hands turning them (DAVID BALDACCI)

Smart, sophisticated suspense – a very fine novel by any standard (LEE CHILD)

The perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing – I quite literally couldn’t put it down. I told myself I’d just dip in; eleven hours later – it’s now 5.47 AM – I’ve finished it, absolutely dazzled (A. J. Finn, bestselling author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW)

One of the best thrillers I’ve read this year. Masterfully plotted and brilliantly paced by a writer at the top of his game (CARA HUNTER, Sunday Times bestselling author of CLOSE TO HOME)

I was kicking myself black and blue that I did not see *that* moment coming. I have never been so happily wrong-footed. A very clever book – highly recommended. (C. J. TUDOR, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CHALK MAN)

A neatly woven, intelligently written story that lifts the curtain on the complexities of trauma and the human psyche (ALI LAND, Sunday Times bestselling author of GOOD ME, BAD ME)

The definition of a page turner. The twist comes as hard and fast as a slap across the face. (JOHN MARRS, bestselling author of THE GOOD SAMARITAN)

Genuinely chilling and with a real sucker punch of a twist (SHARON BOLTON, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE CRAFTSMAN)

A hugely impressive debut (STEVE CAVANAGH, bestselling author of THIRTEEN)

Do not compare.  Do not compare!  Just because this Alex-writer-person-man has written and debut and so am I attempting to type (cross out ‘attempting’) a debut doesn’t mean I need to feel inferior.   Ta-dah!  I hereby throw the cloak of self-doubt over the …. I said OVER the settee, not crinkled in a fleecy pile this side, damn it!

I’m nearly half way through those pink pen edits .. woo hoo!

Done so much reading and writing the last fifteen months, I now need glasses. Eye text booked for 13th 👌🏼👀